Your Pain is Your Fault: What Women Are Told by Their Doctors

Very interesting results from this survey. Click the top link to read the complete article and the bottom link to see the survey answer percentages.

EDS and Chronic Pain News & Info

Your Pain is Your Fault: What Women Are Told by Their Doctors – National Pain Report

“There’s nothing wrong with you.” “Your only problem is that you’re fat and lazy.” “You’re too pretty to be sick!” “You brought this on yourself. Your pain is your fault.” These are some of the surprising, disturbing and bizarre things that women were told by their doctors, according to an online survey of over 2,400 women in chronic pain conducted by National Pain Report.

Three out of four women said they were told at least once by a doctor that they’d have to learn to live with their pain. Over half said a doctor had told them they didn’t know what was wrong with them.

View original post 324 more words

7 thoughts on “Your Pain is Your Fault: What Women Are Told by Their Doctors

  1. Just because I put on makeup and fix my hair, doctors usually say that I look great. Immediately I’m in defense mode before I even explain how bad I feel and wonder if they’re even believing me. Drives me nuts.

    Like

    • To be honest, the dressiest I get when going to the doctor is a pair of jeans and a blouse. When that medicine was helping and giving me energy, I put makeup on. The doctor told me I was looking a lot better I must be feeling a lot better….but at the time he was right. I usually don’t have the energy for something as frivolous as makeup. Anyway, point is that yes, I have great doctors now, but it took me a lot of tries to find them. I have heard some of these things…one told me he would refer me to a psychiatrist. I left and never went back (and I cried and cried because I knew the pain was real…I didn’t want meds, I just wanted them to fix it). So, this survey really hit home with me. I actually participated in the survey, so it was neat to get to see some of the answers. Man, the things we go through…you know what I mean. By the way, how have you been? Are you recovering well from your surgery?

      Like

      • Frivolous for you, but distracting for me. I’m one of those who denies how I feel by doing something else even if it kills me. I went in almost having a nervous breakdown and yes I had lipstick on. I did NOT feel great and I was so offended by the scrutiny I got. Everyone has different ways of dealing with things and naturally it was a man so I was even more defensive. I do know what you mean though because I have many days I wonder what is the point. My knee is coming along but omg it is not easy. My fibro kicks in and my whole body is a mess. I’m hoping this will help when all is said and done. I wonder sometimes if it will ever end! I have to keep a positive outlook though because otherwise I know the answer. hugs

        Like

  2. I have been blessed to have had a good doctor the last several years. He always listened to me and tried to explain and ask questions. Unlike my doctor when I was pregnant that told me my morning sickness was in my head. My doctor has fortunately for him retired. But not so fortunate for me. Now I have to start all over with a new doctor. This time I went with a woman doctor. So far I like her, but I have had only one visit with her. We’ll see.

    Like

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

