iPad Replacement Update

After writing this morning’s post, I got a call from the rental store to let me know that my request for a replacement iPad had been approved. If you have been keeping up, on Monday June 21 my house was broken into and my iPad, a cellphone, and a weed eater were stolen. It took the city a week (it is supposed to take 24 hours) to get me a copy of the police report because they “misplaced” it, and then it took the rental store a couple of days after getting a copy of the police report to decide whether they would replace the stolen one. I got tired of waiting and just bought a new tablet for myself, but M (and my sister, but M was first) offered to take over the payments if they replaced the old one.

So, the store calls to let me know that they will be able to replace the iPad with one that they have in the store. I asked if it was the same as the one that was stolen (in model and memory – I had a 64 GB iPad 3) and they didn’t know. I mean, how do you not know what you’re selling? They tried to give me the serial number so that I could call Apple to confirm the memory on the replacement, but the store manager gave me one of the serial number’s letters wrong and it couldn’t be looked up. Therefore, I had to drive there and get the serial number myself. I contacted Apple and it turned out that the iPad Air (iPad 5) that they wanted to give me was only 16 GB! That’s a quarter of the memory that my old one had. Well, that wasn’t going to cut it, so he called around to other stores and found me a 64 GB iPad 3 at another store. I heard when he specifically asked the other store if it had been refurbished (sent to the technician) because it had previously been rented out. They assured him it had.

I drove across town to pick up the iPad, but when I got home and turned it on, the first thing it asked me for was a passcode. Great…just great. So I called the manager back to ask if he could call the other store to see if for some reason they had placed the password on it. Nope. Turns out it was never sent to the shop to be wiped clean (refurbished). I mean really…what kind of idiot says it’s been sent to the shop when it hasn’t? The manager told me that my only option now is to let them send it to the shop to be reset which will take about a week. In the meantime, they will let me “borrow” the one they had in the store that only had 16 GB. AAAAARRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHH!!!! That was a scream of frustration by the way. I feel like going to a really quiet place (like a library) and just screaming as loud as I can. Do any of you know if that actually makes you feel any better or is it just a saying? Now I have to create a new Apple ID to use on the rental tablet because I don’t want any of my personal information (or M’s) left on it when I give it back.

The only good thing about all this is that they are going to come by the house to exchange the tablets so that I don’t have to go back out today…and in the rain no less. Also, this way I know for sure that when I get it back, it will have been purged and examined for any problems, so I shouldn’t have to worry about it not working properly. With people this bright, I suppose “shouldn’t” is an assumption. It seems nothing seems to go right. I am so glad that in a few more payments this thing will be paid off and I won’t have to deal with them any more. Let’s just hope that it is in good working order when I get it back so that when it is paid off I won’t have any further issues with it. Here’s to hoping!

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

