Product Review: Axon Optics Glasses

With Axon Optics glasses

With Axon Optics glasses

It has been a while since I won a pair of sunglasses from Axon Optics and Michael Fernandez at MigraineDiscussions.com. This company makes glasses for migraine sufferers or for anyone with a sensitivity to light such as someone who is at a computer screen all day. I can’t really say anything about the indoor glasses since mine are for the outdoors. However I do have some things to say about the ones I own.

First of all, I was surprised that for a pair of “over Rx glasses”, these are remarkably stylish. I remember when I was a kid and they made the lenses that fit over the prescription eyeglasses and flipped up…not so cool. These, however, are just the right size to fit over my glasses and hide them from view. It looks like I simply have on a pair of sunglasses. So as far as style goes, it’s a thumbs up. 👍

The frames are lightweight. I mentioned in another post how a previous pair of sunglasses I had made the bridge of my nose hurt after about an hour. I can wear these glasses almost all day (or at least a few hours) before they start to bother me. However, when they do, a simple adjustment in the placement of my Rx glasses and I’m good for another little while. So, for comfort…another thumbs up. 👍

Now, as far as doing what they claim to do…helping with migraines: Since I received the glasses (it has been about 3 weeks) I have worn them every day when going outside. In that time I usually would have taken my migraine medication (Maxalt) to keep a migraine at bay at least 5 times, sometimes more. I have only taken one dose of Maxalt since receiving these glasses and it was taken at the first sign of a headache to prevent it from becoming a full-blown migraine. It is possible that it wouldn’t have developed into one, but like they say- better safe than sorry. By providing full coverage from the sun even on the sides (unlike most sunglasses that allow the light to come in from the sides and sometimes the top and bottom of the lenses) the use of these glasses have kept me from having to take as much medication as before. Therefore, I have to give it another thumbs up. 👍

Since I haven’t had a full-blown migraine, I have not been able to use these glasses yet during the light-sensitivity part of the headache. However, because of the coverage, I believe that it would be safe to assume that they would be very helpful when having to be in a well-lit room during a headache. I think that they would provide relief in that situation as well. In this area, I have to reserve the thumbs up for when this happens. I will keep you guys posted on that front.

I am so very grateful to Michael and Axon Optics for providing me with these great sunglasses. They have met all my needs so far and may help any of you who suffer from migraines or other types of light-sensitivity. If you would like more information you can go to the Axon Optics website here or contact Michael Fernandez at MigraineDiscussions@gmail.com.

3 thoughts on “Product Review: Axon Optics Glasses

  1. I want a pair of those! They do look good for the over rx glasses type. The only ones of I’ve found locally are horribly uncomfortable and ugly as sin. And now that I’m having migraines again regularly, I really could use some comfortable, dark glasses.

    Like

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

