My Week Away From Home

I just spent a wonderful week away from home at my sister’s house. I really needed the time away and I had a great time with my sister, my niece and grandniece, and nephew. I suppose the highlight of the week was my grandniece, who is 18 months old and one of the smartest, most beautiful babies you could ever meet. No matter how bad you feel, a simple look from her big blue eyes leaves you with a big smile on your face. I found that out the hard way.

Towards the end of the week, my sister ended up in the hospital to have a kidney stone removed that was stuck and couldn’t pass. Since I was staying with her, I ended up spending the next two days and two nights with her, my niece, and grandniece at the hospital. If you think hospital beds are bad, try the uncomfortable recliners. Add to that multiple trips all the way to the other end of the hospital to the cafeteria for food and I was more than exhausted. My pride was the only thing that kept me from asking to borrow a wheelchair on the second day. The funny thing was, that no matter how bad we felt or how tired and cranky we were, just having the baby there kept us going. Well, she definitely did for me. To be honest, her mom was a little frazzled by the end of the hospital stay.

I am still recovering in bed from those two days, but all in all the week gave me time to think about things and put what’s been bothering me in perspective. Even though my sister has not always been there for me when I was in the hospital, it feels good to know that I was there for her. It has reminded me about how important family is and how they usually are there for you, especially when you need them the most.

15 thoughts on “My Week Away From Home

  1. Glad you had a good week even though it was a rough week for all of you. Does that make sense? Anyway I am glad your sister is okay and I know she was grateful for you to be there. And babies can make you smile. Get your rest and take care.

    Like

    • It does make sense. It was probably the best and the worst week I’ve had in a long time, but especially simultaneously. I’ve just been hanging out in bed waiting for my muscles to stop screaming at me. They are already getting a little better and the scream is now just a raised voice. Hopefully I’ll get it back to a whisper soon.

      Like

  2. The screaming isn’t fun is it, but sometimes the price is worth paying to get the emotional lift of doing something that isn’t so sick. We need fleeting seconds of strength to help buoy us up. I’ve also found that serving others is the antidote for feeling blue, and sometimes it is a great pain relief too! Enjoy resting and rest in the knowledge that you served your family and God. I think that is the most important work we can do!

    Like

    • No, the screaming isn’t fun, but you’re right…it was worth it. I loved having the extra time to spend with my nieces. I almost didn’t want to come home, but I had only packed enough meds for one week. It did feel good to be there for my sister, even though she hasn’t always been there for me. I knew I was doing what I needed to do. I look forward to being able to visit again.

      Like

  3. The trial stimulator is finally in. The doctors had trouble getting the leads in the epidural fluid as far in as they would have liked– apparently I have adhesions/scar tissue blocking the way.

    Like

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

