Open Letter to “Normals:” Please Read

I came across this letter posted on another blog.  It was originally written to help understand what people with Fibromyalgia live with.  But it is pertinent to all the patients who are and family member of the chronically, “invisibly” ill. So I tweaked it a little. And would be forever grateful if you took a moment to read it (and share it)!

Open Letter To Normals,

These are the things that I would like you to understand about me before you judge me…

Please understand that being sick doesn’t mean I’m not still a human being. I may have to spend most of my day flat on my back in bed or on the couch in jammies, and I might not seem like great company, but I’m still me stuck inside this body. I still worry about school and work and my family and friends, and most of the time I’d still like to hear you talk about yours too.

To read more:   Open Letter to “Normals:” Please Read.

4 thoughts on “Open Letter to “Normals:” Please Read

  1. I still refer back to Christine Miserandino’s Spoon Theory and the “But You Don’t Look Sick” idea again and again. It seems to be effective in explaining to “normies” what chronic and other invisible illness is like, or at least it’s gained me a lot of solidarity and support from those that do deal with it.

    Like

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

