Time for Joy

I have had a great couple of days. The pain is finally gone from weeks past and I am left with my everyday pain. What does that mean? It means that for the past 3 days I have been able to do my yoga/PT stretches. Yesterday I was SO SORE! However it has worn off some today and I am left with the good feeling that exercise brings. I have dedicated a whole hour each day to ME. 30 minutes with my stretches and another 30 minutes (to cool down) using a guided meditation or guided yoga nidra. They are basically the same thing. The point is that I haven’t been able to be out of bed for an hour in 3 weeks! This is huge!

I’ve noticed that once my pain levels subside, my mood improves (well who’s wouldn’t, right?) and I am able to see the blessings in my life more clearly. I have gone from a 9/10 pain level to a 7/10 (when I’m sore, but soreness is so much different than PAIN) to a 6/10 baseline.  I’m hoping that the more my muscles loosen up with the stretches that number will continue to go down. The lowest I’ve been since the adhesion pain reared it’s ugly head has been a 4/10. Oh, would I ever welcome that number again! Another benefit to working out: I have been sleeping better. So what if that sleep came during the day or while talking to a friend (sorry Tammy!) the point is that I have gotten some much needed rest.

I have another nerve block planned for the 20th.  Wow, I just realized that’s this Friday.  I am “hoping and praying and wishing and dreaming” (what was the name of that song?) that this nerve block finally works. You know the saying that God never gives you more than you can handle? Well, this would be a good time for him  to discretely intervene. If I understood the nurse practitioner at the pain clinic correctly, there are very few places left where they can try to do nerve blocks (if any at all), so I’m kinda counting on this one.

For those of you who have been wondering how things at home are doing (or I guess I should say if you are wondering what happened after that night), I’m thinking about writing a password protected post so that I may write freely on the subject but don’t risk the wrong people reading it. I have been able to tell a few of you because we have contact outside of WordPress, but I know that there were others who prayed for me and were there for me who might be interested. If you are, could you just comment below and/or email me with your email address so that I can send you the password once it’s done.

Scarf Update:  I have finally finished the scarf I was working on.  Once I get it washed with softener I will take another picture. I have since started a new one. This one I’m doing differently. It is a double crochet whereas the first one was a single crochet. Actually, I haven’t decided if it is going to be a scarf or a throw. I made it plenty long (or wide) just in case.

14 thoughts on “Time for Joy

  1. That’s so great that your pain isn’t as bad…and you’re done with your scarf (YAY!!). 😀 I’ll be looking forward to seeing the picture of it!

    Like

  2. That is such awesome news, Joy. so happy for you. Less pain, able to function, able to sleep, sounds like you hit the jackpot, girl. Very, very happy for you. I’ll talk to you tomorrow, hopefully. Take care my dear friend,
    Wild Thang:)
    I finally decided to dedicate this entire night to visiting others blogs and ignore my notifications until tomorrow. It’s really been nice being able to read others blogs because when I get worse and I’m not able to be on here for a few days, boy do I get way behind and it takes a few days just to respond to all the notifications. So, anyway, I’m enjoying reading blogs tonight.:)

    Like

    • I have been reading blogs all night too. Still not done. On the other post when I responded go back two to My Day At Therapy is will be two from this one after the award acceptance. Yeah I was doing good until today I didn’t do my stretches 😔. I’ll catch up tomorrow. I told you I’d feel better once I got rid of that stupid UTI. I guess it was just too much too fast (not like I would ever do that, no). It ok though because I rested today, but I will get back on mother bandwagon tomorrow. I could really tell how de-conditioned I’ve become since I’ve been sick. I lost all the progress I had made before. It’s ok though. I am learning to accept that I can’t do it all (what a strange concept!) and rested today without beating myself up.

      Like

  3. I still haven’t been to sleep, yet, and it’s now 12:07 p.m. the night before I got 5 hours, night before 45 minutes, and the night before that 2 hours and that’s as far back as I can remember, but I’ve been on the insomnia bandwagon, again for the past few weeks. I can’t even think right now. I need to try to sleep, but I know I won’t be able to, but 7 hours and 45 minutes of sleep over 4 nights isn’t funny because I know what happens to me, eventually, when I get no sleep. Snapola. I’ll be up there on that damn 6th floor sitting in time out, again. LOL I did write a new post bright and early this morning and got it posted. I hope it makes sense. I should have waited until I got some sleep and proofread it before posting. Geezzzzzzzzzzzz if I get any smarter. LOL I’m still waiting to hear back from my new OB/Gyn to see what they are going to do or not do for me. I’m worried I’ll fall asleep and not hear the damn phone. I am on the verge of collapsing. Did you ever get some sleep? Are you still awake?
    And, no, I know you would never even attempt to do too much to fast, me neither! Not us, hell no. LOL I better at least try to sleep. At least give it an effort. Hopefully, I can sleep at least a few hours and then we can skype,if you are awake and feel up to it. We’ll figure that out here in a few hours, ok? I hope you are having a good day. At least I got lucky and have no appointments today and that doesn’t happen too often. I do have at least one appointment tomorrow morning at 9 a.m. sharp. Ok, done. going to try to sleep. Wish me luck. Hell you’re probably over there sawing logs. JEALOUS! Love ya, girl.
    Peace and bear hugs,
    Wild Thang 🙂
    When you get a moment, go read my new poem and let me know what you think. You have to remember I wrote that at the crack of dawn with no sleep. Give my your honest opinion. I trust that you would do that. I will not be upset, I want honest feedback. So NO lying allowed. I can’t even type.. Done.:)

    Like

    • I’m awake. I got a few hours of sleep, an hour at a time until 5 when I konked out from a few days without. Woke up at 10:00 a.m. You just do what you need to. My Skype stays open, so ring me whenever you’re ready. I will head over to that poem right now and I promise…completely honest opinion.

      Like

      • Ok I am mad as hell right now. I just responded to this message and it vanished on me. This keeps happening today. I know today it’s happening because I keep hitting something on accident. I want to scream, may I? Here we go again, and it won’t be the same and I won’t remember everything I was telling you. Damn I’m mad……. My anxiety is now preventing me from sleeping because if I drift off now, I’m not going to hear my phone when it rings and I’m waiting on my doctor to call. I cannot miss that call. I have no idea what else I said. It was long, as alway. Damn damn double damn. Wild Thang gone mad!

        Like

          • No worries. I’m just gonna skype you and stay awake. Just gotta round up some food real quick, damn it. I hate eating, but it’s just something I have to do once in awhile. I’m really about to pass out so just give me a few. Get to crocheting while you’re waiting on me.

            Like

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

