Update 2 – Waiting in Line

I had a very productive day. It started at the pharmacy to buy my ‘thingie’. Although I was undoubtedly grateful to the owner for allowing me to purchase my ‘thingie’ in payments (it helps to that I am an extremely good customer although most times I wish I weren’t such a frequent customer) it was very hard for me to do. 32 years old and buying a walker. It’s definitely not what one would imagine for themselves, but when the time comes, the time comes. So, with tears in my eyes (I refused to let them fall down my face) I purchased a walker. Actually, I believe that it is called a “rollator” but let’s face it, it’s still a walker. I got the medications that were waiting for me, and I also got my flu shot (well, hell, I was already there and the last thing I need it the flu).

After the pharmacy was the bank and the longest line of the day. It wasn’t too bad. Maybe ten-fifteen minutes. After the bank was the never-ending list of payment centers, however I believe some of your good wishes and prayers paid off because most of the lines were short or non=existent. I was completely shocked. I’m used to being in line behind at least 5 people, sometimes more and that’s average. Imagine a when it’s really busy, but today (yesterday because it’s 5:30am), prayers paid off. Thank you very much to those of you thinking about me. Lunch was next, but I really couldn’t eat. first of all, it was fried fish. NOrmally, I LOVE fried fish because, well, it’s fried. Enough said 🙂 . But usually when I hurt or there’s a lot going on (physically, emotionally) I just can’t get anything down.

After lunch was one more payment that I was going to make by phone, but it ended up being easier to go by the office (so said M-, who was nice enough to take the day off to drive me around and also to restrain from any arguments all day…well at least until we were on our way home). At the water works board, I did use my ‘thingie’…well I guess I can call it a ‘rollator” because it doesn’t sound as bad as ‘walker’ does. Anyway, I used my ‘rollator’ at the water works board, but there weren’t that many people there either. I just don’t understand where all the people were. I was sort of glad, though, because you should have seen the looks people were giving me; even with the knee brace on. I understand that people are curious by nature, but why stare? Is it not enough to take a look and then turn back to what you were doing? But people were staring. I can only figure that they were thinking “she’s too young and healthy to need one of those; I wonder what is wrong with her.” On my post ‘Invisible Illness Awareness Week: 30 Things You May Not Know About My Illness’ one of the 30 questions is whether or not you would rather your illness were visible or invisible, and I said visible. Having experienced it today, I’m having second thoughts on my answer to that question. Or maybe the reason they were staring was because I DON’T look sick. Maybe that was the weird part to them. I don’t know.

After all was said and done, I ran out of time to go to the courthouse. I did make it to get the address changed on my driver’s license. I believe it was the longest line of the day. It took about an hour, but they had plenty of chairs. I just brought my cushion in from the car and had a seat (did you really think I was going to try to sit on solid wood chairs for an hour? No, no no no no). I also made it to Wal-Mart before I got home and was unbelievably relieved that I hadn’t had time to go get the tags. I was completely and utterly exhausted. I came home, took my medicine, and went to bed. I am just now up and eating a little something and, of course, writing this post. I had better try to get back to sleep, though, because I have therapy at ten and then a date with the courthouse…looks like there will be an update #3 to see how long I actually had to wait in line, and how people react to my ‘rollator’. I will try not to let it bother me. I know that I will need it and to those who have a problem with it, I will just blow raspberries at them like a 4 year old. Slobbery  wet raspberries.

 

3 thoughts on “Update 2 – Waiting in Line

  1. You tell em, girl! Glad things went much smoother than anticipated. Be glad you have your “thingie” because can you imagine doing all that shit without it? I’m not proud, hell I need one of those and I’m very serious. Hopefully this physical therapy will help me a lot, so I can get around the way I should for someone my age. Email me an update as soon as you recover from the past 2 days. Have a great weekend and I hope to hear from you.
    HUGS,
    Tammy 🙂
    It’s only 3:24 a.m. here. This insomnia is getting out of control and I actually have a friend coming over at 10:00 a.m. to spend the day with me, so I will be happy tomorrow, I mean in a few hours. I probably should try to put this laptop away and try to catch a few zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz’s before my friend arrives.

    Like

      • I use a scooter whenever possible, otherwise many days I would have to wait in the car while hubby shopped. I don’t care if they stare or not, I’m 58 so I guess I am at an age where I’m past wondering or caring what people are thinking. I honestly could care less. I’m just trying to make my way in this world and do whatever I can to keep functioning.

        Just stay focused, remember what you are there for and don’t give a second thought to other people. Who cares what they think. You are brave for getting your thingee and for using it. My 82 year old mother has too much pride to even apply for a handicap placard for her car, but I’ve had one for over 10 years. I park there because I can barely walk anymore. To heck with other people. Let them stare. I can’t be bothered by that stuff. I am busy living my life. Keep your chin up girl. Don’t fret the small stuff. xoxo

        Like

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

