My New Hobby/Hobbies

 

image

Well, today after careful consideration about the knitting (my careful consideration being my therapist saying that the only time in her life that she has ever got so mad that she threw something across the room was when she was trying to learn to knit) I decided that maybe I should try crocheting after all.

When I got to the store to purchase a needle, I was immediately hit with a (“hell no we wont go”) moment and decided that if it kills me I will learn to knit.  Hell, I will learn to knit and crochet and that’s just all there is to it. So, as I was looking at some yarn I liked to find the needle size I would need, I bought the recommended crochet needle and the coordinating knitting needles.

Tonight I will retire the books and learn completely online…between WikiHow and other videos, I AM going to learn how to do this!  I feel the old stubborn me come back.  It has been gone a long time and it feels good…empowering.

11 thoughts on “My New Hobby/Hobbies

  1. You go, girl! My mom tried to teach me to crochet years ago. Let’s just say it didn’t go over too well and hell no, I do not crochet to this day. Good luck with that. Let me know how it goes.
    Wild Thang :)

    • I see that! I already have the knit and purl stitches down….I’m ok until I finish and then I’ll have to learn to finish it, but hey, I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

  2. Start with something easy! Like a scarf or hot pads. What I think trips people up is when they start up trying to make a sweater or socks?? To hard for my brain. lol Good luck and post some pics!!

    • I’m going to start with a scarf with the knitting and maybe a blanket with the crochet…it had to be the easiest because that’s all my mother, grandmother, and sister make.

Please leave a comment, some advice, or just say hello!

